New Local Government Minister announced


By Sean Car

Victorian Upper House Member for Eastern Metropolitan Shaun Leane was sworn in as the new Minister for Local Government on June 22.

The new appointment follows the sacking of former Minister for Local Government Adem Somyurek, and the resignations of fellow Labor factional allies Robin Scott and Marlene Kairouz amid branch stacking allegations aired on 60 Minutes in June.

Mr Leane resigned as President of the Legislative Council on June 18, and was replaced unopposed by Northern Metropolitan Region Member Nazih Elasmar.

Premier Daniel Andrews said Mr Leane would support local councils grapple with the COVID-19 pandemic. Mr Leane also takes over the portfolios of suburban development and veterans.

The change in ministers comes at a critical time for municipalities across the state with local government elections to be held on October 24.

In other ministerial appointments affecting Docklands and Fishermans Bend, the administration of Development Victoria (DV) will now be overseen by Minister for Transport Infrastructure Jacinta Allan, while new Minister for Business Precincts and the Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions Martin Pakula will work with DV “towards the delivery of the Fishermans Bend and Docklands precincts,” a government spokesperson said.

Fishermans Bend Business Forum (FBBF) executive officer acknowledged what was the third minister in 12 months for Australia’s largest ever urban renewal project.

“We will continue to work as a voice for business and hopefully develop a relationship with Minister Pakula over the coming months,” he said •

Docklands voters turn green and sexy

Docklands voters turn green and sexy

August 3rd, 2022 - Docklands News
Join Our Facebook Group